Feeling Music

 

Last week I went to listen to a polyphonic choir rehearse.

I was tired; really, really tired when I arrived.

My mind and my body were so exhausted that I was hardly able to move from the seat.

I sat behind the choir as they faced forward to sing. It is a position that you don’t normally hear from unless you are in the choir singing.

They started to rehearse.

The melodies that began to unfold washed over me like sunshine through rain drops.

If they were the sun, the rays of energy would have been spiralling out like solar flares, warming the solar system, gently curling around the heavenly bodies of the planets and out into the stars.

I had forgotten what it is like to be in a room with other people singing. It is so long since I sang in a choir.

It was like the molecules in the air became droplets of snow, falling down onto my skin, making my body tingle all over like keys on a piano.

The voices sang out and the songs rained down from the walls and the ceiling. The vibrations and harmonies could be felt through the soles of my feet from the wooden floor.

My hairs stood on end.

Every particle in the air was vibrating as the voices of the altos, tenors, bases, second sopranos and sopranos breathed in and out their sweet sounds.

I closed my eyes it was so relaxing, and in my mind I could see the patterns and lights like rays of sunshine flashing across my eyes.

The music made me feel alive and so peaceful.

It didn’t send me to sleep because the buzzing, tingling sensations that were left after they stopped singing carried on until I went to bed.

I was like having a spiritual shower.

I can understand why people experience music from their soul.

The voices really touched mine.

Their next concert is called ‘The Sacred and Profane’.

You can listen to some short excerpts from their songs at their website, but none of the ones I heard rehearsed. They were well worth listening to.

http://www.readingbachchoir.org.uk/

http://www.readingbachchoir.org.uk/media/listen-to-the-choir/

 

 

5 comments on “Feeling Music

Leave a Reply

