Epilepsy and Osteopathy – how did it help me?

My osteopath has been through a lot when it comes to treating my body.

I first went to him at the suggestion of a friend (her daughter is now married to him – the osteopath I mean).

At the time my back was in a particularly bad way, from seizures and there were some serious problems with my prescription medication (anticonvulsants wreck -havoc on the Central Nervous System, along with seizures and apparently my hormones like to party with my CNS now and again two!).

There was a time when I thought I was the only person that could feel the pins and needles that plagued my body. It was almost like white noise that would get louder in amplitude the more unwell I felt.

Apparently, the osteopath can feel a manifestation of this as well. I am held up as a good example of how not to treat epilepsy, because of the quantities of medication I have road tested before finding out that they screw up your liver and other parts of the endocrine system (my words not his).

I really wish I knew what my body would have felt like pre-medication, but I was too young and now I will never know. It is a continual fine tuning act to manage the problems. I feel like an expensive car with faulty electric’s – the type that spends its life in constant whirl of MOT’s and car washes. In my next life I will be a BMW.

Cranial osteopathy in particular I have found really useful to relieve the problems with muscle spasm, sleep and hormonal changes.

There was a time when my back was ‘crunched’ as well but he’s getting subtler in his old age using cranio- sacral treatments.

I tried to go without it but it just means that I start to feel like I’m going to go ‘POP’.

One of my worst episodes in recent years was unfortunately (or fortunately depending on how you look at it) whilst I was waiting for treatment at my osteopathic surgery.

I woke up looking at into the worried faces of my osteopath, homeopath and the Tai Masseuse who also happen to work in the practice. Talk about alternative therapy over kill! 🙂

I felt so bad for them. I didn’t even get as far as treatment.

I had been feeling rough all day apparently my body had decided enough was enough.

I had a massive seizure. Thank goodness I was with people who cared about me and knew what to do (also who didn’t panic and call an ambulance because I didn’t go over 5 minutes, have another seizure, injure myself or remain unconscious) they knew me well so I was safe.

I wondered if anyone else is benefitting from Osteopathy or similar treatments.

I compiled a list of information sources. Here are some links if anyone is interested in reading up on how this type of treatment can be beneficial.

http://www.epilepsy.com/node/983522 good old Epilepsy Therapy Project comments

http://www.cayce.com/HealingEpilepsyByLindaCaputi.htm this one looked very promising, and this one:

http://jade-epilepsymynewlife.blogspot.co.uk/2012/08/cranial-osteopathy.html as it turns out – I am not alone!

Additionally there is a link to first aid for seizures in case anyone is interested in finding out what to do.

Basically DON’T PANIC and carry out the simple first aid steps.

http://www.epilepsy.org.uk/info/prisons/inmates/first-aid

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q4C-R52Ffy4  This one shows a video of first aid in the event of a seizure.

Now I’m going to go and see the osteopath to tell him my arm nearly fell off on Sunday. Wish me luck!

11 comments on “Epilepsy and Osteopathy – how did it help me?

  1. I use osteopathy and cranial a lot. I have been seeing my chap about once every three months, a bit like a regular service. I used to get a lot of back and neck pain but I find that a regular checkup helps keep everything in order. The cranial is brilliant for general health aswell. I used it on my daughter when she was a baby to get her ‘straightened out’ after a rather rapid birth. Of course, I would also recommend homeopathy for total holistic healing!

    • thanks for your comment! My sister also has osteopathy and the children went in for ‘alignment’ post birth 🙂 I also definatly recommend homeopathy!

  2. Wow I really appreciated how you discribed what is happening to your body. That makes me sad for you, yet I appreciate all you do to make it better. It is hard to be in another’s skin except if we live it or can be so well informed by your discriptiveness. And here you are, helping others with your positive and valuable knowledge.
    Love ya
    Yisraela

Leave a Reply

