CHANGE – The Day My World Got Turned Upside Down! (in a good way)

At approximately 8 am this morning a minor miracle happened (no I didn’t give birth)…

…I actually got my legs over my head in an arm balance (called peacock!).

Actually, what happened was 2 yoga teachers saw me struggling because I have NO proprioception of my legs leaving the ground WHATSOEVER and they lifted my legs over my head towards the wall.

It’s amazing how when your head is underneath your legs it feels like you’re in free fall!!

Despite support the second that they got near the wall I starting squealing and they had to lift me down again, BUT for me this was BIG!!

The last time I got my legs in the air for a handstand was when I was 12.

I was in a gym class and I hadn’t learned to roll from a handstand safely, so I just went SPLAT! On my back and winded myself really badly.

I haven’t been able to go up (side down) in the world since!

I was totally put off and always stiffen up and my breathing goes out of the window!

Obviously, it’s probably going to be sometime before I can do this by my-self, but it goes to show how – I can change! 🙂

So happy! 🙂

Some people can travel the world, but I am really more than happy to travel all around my body. I feel so lucky that I have a chance to learn these things I always wanted to do.

Not a Peacock yet, but not Advanced Hedgehog Pose either!!!

https://epilepsymeandneurology.wordpress.com/2011/12/31/epilepsy-advanced-hedgehog-pose/

Thank you Lesley and Sue! (my yoga teachers)

And Alyson http://alysonyoga.wordpress.com/ nearly forgot you not there today!

2 comments on “CHANGE – The Day My World Got Turned Upside Down! (in a good way)

  1. Way to go, Ruth! That’s an advanced posture, peacock tail feather (forearms on floor yes?). I can manage it if I have one kind person to catch and and grab the legs to take them to the wall. Yes, inversions are a liberating, challenging, rejuvenating, exhausting, exhilarating, scary, demanding and powerful business. There’s no stopping you now!

Leave a Reply

