Epilepsy – Yoga for Mind, Everybody and Spirit

So now that I have spent some time looking for reasons why yoga and tai chi are good for health, I am curious to find out if anybody else has been benefitting from mind-body training for seizures.

As it happens I have recently found a couple of articles which were really good and indicate that I AM NOT ALONE!

Yoga Journal December 2011 community – ‘signs they are a ’changin’ page 24 has an article by Anna Dubrovsky about deaf yoga founder Lila Lolling. (see deafyoga.org.)

Unfortunately I can’t find this article on-line to create a link. Apparently epilepsy is not the only health condition to pose a challenge in class participation. Lila Lolling has set up deaf yoga classes to include and encourage participation in yoga by deaf people. (see link 1)

Being deaf in a yoga class creates its own unique challenges and she has been building bridges towards inclusion. Interestingly, in relation to her own health; ‘Diagnosed with epilepsy as a teenager, Lolling credits yoga with keeping her seizure free and off medication,’ according to the article. This is very encouraging to me!

Pretty quickly it was apparent that EVERYONE participating in yoga are reaping health benefits. There is a wealth of online resources explaining what health problems benefit from yoga.

In 2009 and 2010 I returned to yoga classes locally, this time as a tortoise (slow and steady). I can put my head on the floor now and put weight into my head and through my neck. I am not quite upside down yet – but give me time!

Our community classes are called ‘Yoga I Bawb’ this is Welsh for ‘yoga for everybody’. (see links at bottom of page) We are very lucky to have such a holistic co-operative approaching the teaching of yoga to our local community! If you are in the locality drop on by!

Info sources: 1) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wWsSFuxlj5k

2) deafyoga.org (link given in yoga journal article)

3) http://www.yogawithlila.com/yogawithlila/About.html

4) http://www.yogaibawb.org.uk

5)http://alysonyoga.wordpress.com/2012/10/08/yoga-i-bawb-agm/

Leave a Reply

